Stalybridge carry the Clarets Mad FA Cup flag

Last updated : 11 October 2010 By Tony Scholes
Bower Fold - home of our new team Stalybridge Celtic

Neither of the two ex-Clarets were in the starting line ups. Gareth Farrelly was not included in the Warrington Town squad whilst Adam Kay was on the subs bench for visitors Stalybridge Celtic.

From two leagues higher, Stalybridge were favourites, but went behind in the first half with a goal from Robert Hardwick on 23 minutes, and Warrington retained their 1-0 lead until right on half time when Craig Hobson equalised.

Phil Marsh proved to be the second half hero with two goals. He gave Stalybridge the lead on 57 minutes and then just about ensured they would go through with his second with two minutes of normal time remaining to complete the 3-1 scoreline.

Stalybridge, for whom Kay came on with 21 minutes to go, still had some work to do. Both Connor Millington and Robert Hardwick had shots saved in stoppage time, then substitute Tom Rutter shot wide with the last chance of the game.

Stalybridge Celtic will now look forward to the draw for the Fourth Round Qualifying knowing that one more win could see them face a Football League club in four weeks time.

The game was played in front of the biggest crowd yet on our road to Wembley with 429 at Cantilever Park this afternoon.

Elsewhere the biggest winners were Nuneaton Town who beat Coleshill Town 6-0 and a result of interest to one Burnley player, Wade Elliott, saw his first club Bashley go out to Poole Town.

Clarets Mad Road to Wembley (Results so far)

Extra-Preliminary Round
Staveley Miners Welfare 5 Padiham 0
attendance 90
(winners receive £750 prize money)

Preliminary Round
Staveley Miners Welfare 1 Parkgate 3
attendance 110
(winners receive £1,500 prize money)

First Round Qualifying
Parkgate 1 Warrington Town 3
attendance 122
(winners receive £3,000 prize money)

Second Round Qualifying
Bamber Bridge 1 Warrington Town 1
attendance 223
Warrington Town 4 Bamber Bridge 2
attendance 236
(winners receive £4,500 prize money)

Third Round Qualifying
Warrington Town 1 Stalybridge Celtic 3
attendance 429
(winners receive £7,500 prize money)

Third Round Qualifying Results

FC Halifax Town 4 Harrogate Town 0
Sheffield 1 Frickley Athletic 1
Guiseley AFC 3 Whitley Bay 0
Norton & Stockton Ancients 2 FC United Of Manchester 5
Workington 2 Shildon 1
North Ferriby United 2 Vauxhall Motors 2
Warrington Town 1 Stalybridge Celtic 3
Lincoln Moorlands Railway 1 Mossley AFC 1
Ashington 1 Droylsden 4
Solihull Moors 1 Barwell 1
Mickleover Sports 1 Newcastle Town 2
Buxton 1 AFC Telford United 1
Redditch United 1 Hinckley United 0
Corby Town 2 Worcester City 1
Matlock Town 0 Eastwood Town 3
Nuneaton Town 6 Coleshill Town 0
Radcliffe Olympic 3 Tipton Town 3
Chelmsford City 2 Bromley 2
Leiston 5 North Greenford United 0
Brentwood Town 1 Woking 1
Harrow Borough 2 Hampton & Richmond Borough 1
St Albans City 0 Kingstonian 0
Metropolitan Police 1 Wealdstone 1
Lewes 2 Thurrock 1
Needham Market 0 Ebbsfleet United 1
Whitehawk 1 Hendon 2
Boreham Wood 3 Enfield Town 1
Carshalton Athletic 4 Braintree Town 1
Concord Rangers 0 Hythe Town 1
Dover Athletic 3 Cambridge City 1
Bury Town 2 Staines Town 2
Canvey Island 2 Dartford 2
Swindon Supermarine 4 Hungerford Town 0
Salisbury City 1 Weston Super Mare 0
Didcot Town 0 Basingstoke Town 4
Havant & Waterlooville 4 Dorchester Town 1
Farnborough 2 Hamble ASSC 0
Poole Town 1 Bashley 0
Clevedon Town 0 Eastleigh 5
Cinderford Town 0 Maidenhead United 4