Eastwood Town are our new FA Cup team

Last updated : 24 October 2010 By Tony Scholes
Eastwood Town's Coronation Park

They travelled to Stalybridge yesterday and a Lindon Meikle goal seven minutes from time gave them the win. They'd gone in front through Lee Stevenson early in the game which came immediately after a Stalybridge effort had been saved. Stevenson made the most of a defensive mistake as he latched on to a long kick from his own goalkeeper before slotting home.

Stalybridge, who became the Clarets Mad team after beating Warrington Town in the last round, were level with a Phil Marsh goal just past the half hour. Marsh went down under a challenge but the perfectly placed referee waved play on. However, the assistant, some distance away, flagged and a free kick was given that Marsh scored from.

Then came Stevenson's winner, and this time via some good refereeing. As players stopped believing Eastwood should have a free kick on the edge of the box, the referee spotted the advantage and let Stevenson go on and secure the win.

The tie at Swindon Supermarine or Bath City will take place in two weeks time with their opponents replaying this Tuesday. Swindon Supermarine are currently 11th in the Zamaretto Premier Division and Bath City are 21st and in the relegation positions in the Blue Square Bet Conference. We are now guaranteed a non-league team in the Second Round.

Clarets Mad Road to Wembley (Results so far)

Extra-Preliminary Round
Staveley Miners Welfare 5 Padiham 0
attendance 90(winners receive £750 prize money)

Preliminary RoundStaveley Miners Welfare 1 Parkgate 3
attendance 110
(winners receive £1,500 prize money)

First Round Qualifying
Parkgate 1 Warrington Town 3
attendance 122
(winners receive £3,000 prize money)

Second Round Qualifying
Bamber Bridge 1 Warrington Town 1
attendance 223
Warrington Town 4 Bamber Bridge 2
attendance 236
(winners receive £,4500 prize money)

Third Round Qualifying
Warrington Town 1 Stalybridge Celtic 3
attendance< 429
(winners receive £7,500 prize money)

Fourth Round Qualifying
Stalybridge Celtic 1 Eastwood Town 2
attendance 659
(winners receive £12,500 prize money)

Fourth Round Qualifying Results

Mossley 2 Darlington 6
Sheffield 2 Tipton Town 2
Guiseley 2 Redditch United 1
Fleetwood Town 2 Buxton 1
Altrincham 0 Gateshead 2
Vauxhall Motors 1 Newcastle Town 0
FC United of Manchester v Barrow - being played today
Workington 1 Nuneaton Town 1
Tamworth 1 Grimsby Town 1
Kidderminster Harriers 0 York City 2
FC Halifax Town 0 Mansfield Town 1
Wrexham 1 Southport 2
Stalybridge Celtic 1 Eastwood Town 2
Droylsden 3 Barwell 0
Woking 3 Eastleigh 2
Hythe Town 2 Staines Town 0
Eastbourne Borough 2 Harrow Borough 4
Cambridge United 3 Lewes 0
Corby Town 3 Salisbury City 0
Newport County 0 Crawley Town 1
Luton Town 4 St Albans City 0
Farnborough 1 Dover Athletic 1
Kettering Town 1 Rushden & Diamonds 2
Carshalton Athletic 1 Chelmsford City 1
Hendon 0 Metropolitan Police 0
Leiston 0 Dartford 0
Basingstoke Town 0 AFC Wimbledon 1
Swindon Supermarine 0 Bath City 0
Havant & Waterlooville 2 Histon 0
Forest Green Rovers 1 Maidenhead United 0
Poole Town 1 Hayes & Yeading United 3
Ebbsfleet United 3 Boreham Wood 0

First Round Proper Draw

Colchester United v Bradford City
Corby Town v Luton Town
Harrow Borough v Chesterfield
Notts County v Gateshead
Stevenage v Milton Keynes Franchise
Southport v Sheffield Wednesday
Rotherham United v York City
Havant & Waterlooville v Droylsden
Bury v Exeter City
Cheltenham Town v Morecambe
Hayes & Yeading United v Wycombe Wanderers
Dagenham & Redbridge v Leyton Orient
AFC Wimbledon v Ebbsfleet United
Lincoln City v Workington or Nuneaton Town
Mansfield Town v Torquay United
Hereford United v Hythe Town
AFC Bournemouth v Tranmere Rovers
Carshalton Athletic or Chelmsford City v Hendon or Metropolitan Police
Swindon Supermarine or Bath City v Eastwood Town
Rushden & Diamonds v Yeovil Town
Southampton v Shrewsbury Town
Cambridge United v Huddersfield Town
Burton Albion v Oxford United
Gillingham v Farnborough or Dover Athletic
Tamworth or Grimsby Town v Crewe Alexandra
Darlington v Bristol Rovers
Guiseley v Crawley Town
Brighton & Hove Albion v Woking
Macclesfield Town v Southend United
Rochdale v FC United of Manchester or Barrow
Carlisle United v Sheffield or Tipton Town
Leiston or Dartford v Port Vale
Forest Green Rovers v Northampton Town
Fleetwood Town v Walsall
Barnet v Charlton Athletic
Plymouth Argyle v Swindon Town
Accrington Stanley v Oldham Athletic
Hartlepool United v Vauxhall Motors
Stockport County v Peterborough United
Brentford v Aldershot Town