It's not exactly Cyprus but ……..

Last updated : 30 January 2003 By Tony Scholes

Papadopoulos is named in the reserve team that takes on Sheffield United this afternoon in an Avon Insurance League Premier Division game. The Blades, like many other clubs don’t use their own ground. They have taken the games across the county border into Derbyshire and the Recreation Ground, Saltergate the home of Chesterfield.

It is another strong looking line up for the Clarets, as was the case last week when we did actually play in Sheffield and Yorkshire against Rotherham. In fact there are just two changes from last week’s side with Earl Davis and Joel Pilkington replacing Mark McGregor and Robbie Blake. It looks as though Robbie has been well behaved this week and has been spared reserve team duty.

It gives both Gordon Armstrong and Andy Payton another opportunity to improve their fitness after injuries although it is hardly likely that either of them will find a starting place back in the first team no matter how they do.

The full Burnley team is: Nik Michopoulos, Andrew Leeson, Gordon Armstrong, Ian Cox, Earl Davis, Joel Pilkington, Mark Rasmussen, Andrew Waine, Andy Payton, Dimitri Papadopoulos, Alan Moore. Subs: James Salisbury, Liam Eves, Richard Chaplow, Anthony Shandran, Damien Hindle.

Sheffield United will not be without experience either and former KKMC full back Richard Edghill gets a game after recently signing for them. He has recently been with Wigan for three months but played just one LDV Vans Trophy game in that time. Edghill is joined in the Sheffield United side by players such as Shaun Murphy, Steve Yates and Laurens Ten Heuvel.

It is our opponents turn to have a trialist on this occasion and it is Frenchman Alex Jeannin a 25 year-old left back. He has previously played for Troyes in France but more recently has been with 3rd Division Darlington. He completes a very experienced back four.

Sheffield United line up from: Wilko de Vogt, Richard Edghill, Shaun Murphy, Steve Yates, Alex Jeannin, Danny Wood, Gerry Quinn, Tyrone Thomson, Grant Smith, Laurens Ten Heuvel, Ryan Mallon, Adam Baum, Rob Nugent, Karl Colley, Ben Purkiss, Anthony Tansley, Ben Scott.