Chappy wins PFA award

Last updated : 06 January 2004 By Tony Scholes

And Clarets Mad visitors can take a bow for playing a major part in winning Chappy the PFA’s Fans’ 1st Division Player of the Month Award for December, an award that is chosen by supporters via web site voting.

For virtually the whole month Clarets Mad carried a voting prompt on its front page and this was enough for Chappy to see off competition from the likes of Peter Thorne at Cardiff and Andy Reid at Nottingham Forest to collect the award.

The winners were revealed today with the other three divisional winners being Thierry Henry of Arsenal (Permiership), Martin Rowlands of QPR (Division Two) and Simon Yeo of Lincoln (Division Three).

The award will have come as a big boost for Chappy after he was sent off in the Clarets' FA Cup win against Mansfield Town on Saturday. It is without doubt a well deserved award giving his performances in the last few weeks of last year.

Already this month Robbie Blake is in the top five along with Willie Boland (Cardiff), Ricardo Fuller (Preston), Andy Reid (Forest) and David Wetherall (Bradford).

Click HERE to vote for Robbie Blake.