Burley is number one

Last updated : 30 May 2002 By Tony Scholes

George Burley - over seven years at Portman Road
Following the recent appointment of the First Division's newest manager, Steve Cotterill at Stoke, we have been asked who will be the longest serving manager in the division next season.

Firstly the answer is not Stan Ternent who is currently tenth in the list of managers in the four top divisions. There are though two in next season's First Division who have been in charge of their clubs longer.

Top of the list is Ipswich Town's George Burley who replaced Paul Goddard and John Wark as manager at Portman Road as long ago as December 1994. Behind Burley comes Ronnie Moore who completed five years as Rotherham manager last Friday. Then it is Stan (June 1998) with Reading's Alan Pardew next despite being appointed another fifteen months later.

Neil Warnock is the only other First Division manager to be appointed before the millennium an incredibly only fourteen of them were in place before last New Year's Eve. Two of the clubs don't even have a manager at the moment and are looking to make early appointments.

There will be many more changes next season, during 2001/02 just half of the twenty-four clubs started and ended the season with the same manager.

The list in order of appointment is:



Date Appointed




George Burley

Ipswich Town

28th December 1994

Ronnie Moore

Rotherham United

24th May 1997

Stan Ternent


2nd June 1998

Alan Pardew


16th September 1999

Neil Warnock

Sheffield United

2nd December 1999

Andy Hessenthaler


12th June 2000

Mark McGhee


25th September 2000

Nigel Worthington

Norwich City

4th December 2000

Dave Jones

Wolverhampton Wanderers

3rd January 2001

Gianluca Vialli


1st July 2001

Paul Hart

Nottingham Forest

12th July 2001

Terry Yorath

Sheffield Wednesday

17th October 2001

Trevor Francis

Crystal Palace

30th November 2001

Paul Groves

Grimsby Town

28th December 2001

Nicky Law

Bradford City

31st December 2001

Colin Lee


24th January 2002

John Gregory

Derby County

30th January 2002

Harry Redknapp


25th March 2002

Micky Adams

Leicester City

4th April 2002

Craig Brown

Preston North End

29th April 2002

Gary McAllister

Coventry City

13th May 2002

Steve Cotterill

Stoke City

27th May 2002

The two clubs currently without manager are Brighton and Milton Keynes.